Character actor Don S. Davis, a man whose face is instantly recognizable even if his name isn’t, passed away Sunday of a heart attack. He was sixty-five. Davis appeared in over 135 films and TV shows, most memorably in Stargate SG-1 and Twin Peaks.

His role as Major Garland Briggs on Twin Peaks allowed him to deliver perhaps the show’s finest bit of dialogue (and the one moment of its entire run I still remember vividly nearly 20 years later). Sitting in a coffee shop, Briggs attempts a moment of intimacy in an otherwise strained relationship with his rebellious son:

Son, may I share something with you?

A vision I had in my sleep last night. As distinguished from a dream, which is a mere sorting and cataloguing of the day’s events by the subconscious; a vision, fresh and clear as a mountain stream, the mind revealing itself to itself.

In my vision I was on the verandah of a vast estate, a palazzo of some fantastic proportion. There seemed to emanate from it, a light from within this gleaming, radiant marble. I had known this place. I had, in fact, been born and raised there and this was my first return, a reunion with the deepest wellsprings of my being. As I wandered about I noticed happily that the house had been immaculately maintained and there had been added to it a number of additional rooms but in a way that blended in so seamlessly with the original construction one would never detect any difference. Returning to the house’s grand foyer, there came a knock at the door. I opened it. My son was standing there. It wasn’t you, but in a way it was. He was happy and carefree, clearly living a life of deep harmony and joy. We embraced, a warm and loving embrace, nothing withheld. We were, in this moment, one. My vision ended and I awoke with an overwhelming feeling of optimism and confidence about you and your future. That was my vision of you.

You will be missed, good sir.

